March Manicure Madness, Day Six: Super Base

Time to give some props, I think, to the polish that sits under every manicure I suffer my nails through. Introducing… the fabulous Sally Hansen Double Duty Strengthening Base and Top Coat.

20120306-184322.jpg

Like all good base coats, it leaves my nails with a gorgeous shine. It also dries lightning fast.

20120306-184425.jpg

It’s more durable than most base coats I’ve tried. However, if worn on its own, it tends to chip easily. Then again, it’s not designed to be worn on its own.

20120306-184537.jpg

As a top coat, I’m not quite convinced. The formula is medium-thick and can get gloopy. When I’ve worn it as a top coat, it hasn’t added much. The thickness of it tends to mitigate the shine, rather than enhance it.

20120306-184738.jpg

Overall, however, I love it! And I will definitely be seeing this bottle through ’til the bitter, crusty, gloopy end…

xo

Nua Eabhrac

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “March Manicure Madness, Day Six: Super Base

  1. My mom swears by these Sally Hansen polishes.. especially the nail-strengthening ones. But I agree with you- I find that the gloopy formula prevents the polish from drying properly, and I often wake up the next morning with a smushed manicure. It’s so frustrating! So I never quite get far enough to decipher whether or not it is long-lasting though.. my mom said it is.

    Also, for some strange reason, it would seem that all clear polishes chip for me when worn on their own. It’s so weird! Must be something with the formula.. maybe since there is no color, it’s just more of a shellac rather than an actual polish……

    • Interesting, that a base coat is actually a shellac rather than a polish… I used to assume that a clear polish and a base had similar formulae, but obviously a clear polish doesn’t chip as easily. I find that, with just one coat of polish over the Sally Hansen, it chips to pieces if you just give it a funny look. Definitely not to be worn into the shower…

Leave a Reply

