Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh! (Happy St. Patrick’s Day!)

Today is our national holiday, and I’m honouring it with my annual tradition of the Paddy’s Day manicure.

In previous years I was mad for painting the tri-colour on every nail, which looked both over-the-top and sloppy, as well as just a TEENSY bit overzealous. This year, I decided to go for an unusual green with a statement nail. I did a tri-colour flag on both my thumbnails, and painted the other nails with a mermaidy, shimmer-packed sea green.

natural sunlight, indoors

in full morning sunlight, outside

indoors, natural light, statement nail

close-up of statement nail

This was actually entirely an Essence manicure, apart from the matte top-coat. I used Essence  Colour & Go 38 Choose Me for most of my nails – it’s sort of a jelly with a translucent green base, packed to the rafters with gold, green and turquoise micro-shimmer particles. It leaves a clean, non-gritty finish. I only used two coats above; a glossy top-coat would work perfectly and give depth to the colour.

For my thumb, I used two coats each of Essence Colour & Go 18 Check Me Out (green), Essence tip-painter (white) and Essence Multi Dimension 60 Watch Out! (orange). To top it off (and because I love the effect a matte top-coat has over nail art) I added one coat of Claire’s Matte Top Coat.

So that was my St. Patrick’s Day manicure! Want to see some pictures from the parade? Yeah you do… I was very excited to go to it this year because I’ve been out of the country for the past two years, and I really missed our humble festivities in Sligo.

obligatory (and first of many) pipe band

miniature St. Patrick

Samboeire, Sligo's own samba band

Strandhill bus... part of Coolera Dramatic Society's entry

old tractor

Okay, when I’m uploading pictures of tractors I know it’s about time to retire the photo-uploader for the day…

Hope you are all having a spectacular day!

xo

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh! (Happy St. Patrick’s Day!)

  1. dee

    daoibh, not daoimh. Sorry, primary school teacher here. cannot help proof reading things…
    Love you flag nail, just did mine with no 7 blackberry…

  2. dee

    your, not you, obv.

Leave a Reply

