Nails and Things: November 2010

Welcome to second instalment of my neverending series, Nails and Things!

November would certainly be sweet if you had Keanu Reeves on your shoulder

So tell me, did any of you try out Halloween nail art? You still have a few days left, so whip out the nail polish and start painting! I’m thinking about trying out a bloody nail design (white base with gloopy red tips). I’ve already done glow-in-the-dark, as you can see below. I also did neon orange with black polka dots, which I will tell you all about this weekend.

Anyway, in a few short days it will be November – Halloween will be behind us and we will be well on the road to the holiday that dare not speak its name – yup, Christmas. So, to get into the festive spirit many MANY weeks ahead of schedule, I’ve put together some photos of the holiday collections offered by big nail polish brands this Christmas (or holiday, sorry, for convenience sake, and because it’s usually what we call it here in Ireland, I’m going to say Christmas).

Christmas Nail Polish Collections

Check out these offerings from OPI, China Glaze, Orly and Lancôme. Note the similarities? This season it’s all about the glitz, the glamour, with deep reds, slate greys and glitter all round.

OPI Burlesque Holiday 2010, from alllacqueredup.com

China Glaze Holiday 2010 -- Rejoice gift, from fashionison.com

Orly Tis The Season Holiday 2010, from orlydiva.com

Lancôme LWren Scott Holiday 2010, from primebeautyblog.com

I can’t wait to get my nails all jazzed up for Christmas – I’ve already bought a close cousin of China Glaze Ruby pumps and ADORE it. Okay – onto our next piece.

Celebrity Nail Polish

I feel like this blog is becoming more and more of an ode to Katy Perry. I may not have yet confessed my undying love for her (note to Katy – um, I wouldn’t hold your breath) but she does seem to pop up a lot. She has great nails, and now she’s releasing a line of polishes in conjunction with OPI. The collection contains 5 colours, including a black shatter (which is très awesome and cool at the moment). Have a peek at the range.

the Katy Perry collection, from OPI facebook

The blue on the far left, entitled Last Friday Night, has really caught my eye. The collection is due in stores (in Amerikay, at least) in January 2011.

The next person jumping on the nail polish bandwagon is Serena Williams. Serena is currently training to be a nail technician (that’s kind of awesome, just sayin’) when she’s not busy bouncing around a tennis court winning shiny silverware. Serena’s nail polish will also be an OPI affair – so far, a picture of one polish has been toted around the interwebs – it’s called Simply Smashing and is a lime-yellow metallic polish.

Simply Smashing, from alllacqueredup.com

Serena's diamante manicure for Wimbledon 2010

Serena herself, from examiner.com

Finally we have Justin Bieber, who recently inspired a nail collection from Nicole, an offshoot of OPI. The collection is called One Less Lonely Girl and six shades will be released in December 2010 (with another six to be released in January).

JB himself, raking in the big bucks!

part of the Justin Bieber nail polish collection, from earsucker.com

Is anyone else a wee bit sceptical of the Justin Bieber nail polish? I mean, coat-tail riding and young girls being exploited are some words that spring to mind. Anyway, onto our final topic of the evening…

Winter Hand Care

I’m one of those people who develops dry skin the moment the temperature drops below 15 degrees Celsius. It’s a sad fact of my life, but I’m used to it – buying crates of moisturisers once the leaves start to fall off the trees. In fact, my cuticles have been having a rough time of it lately – I haven’t taken a swatch picture in about two weeks! They look terrible and I want to rehabilitate them before bringing their bashful selves back into the public eye.

So, I would like to say this now – taking care of your hands and cuticles is very important in winter, if you want them to look half-decent with a bit of nail polish on. I highly recommend finding a cuticle butter/lotion that works well for you – and apply it before pushing back your cuticles. Try and do this every time you repaint your nails, or at least once a week. It keeps them supple and soft, and reduces the likelihood of hangnails and dry bits.

Badger cuticle care, from skinbotanica.com

Burt's Bees is always a winner for me, from heywelikethis.blogspot.com

remember to moisturise your hands too! from echemist.co.uk

Another important tip – please, always use rubber gloves when cleaning or washing the dishes! It took me many years to realise what a difference a pair of gloves can make. Buy yourself a cute pair, like the ones below.

adorable cleaning gloves, from shelterpop.com

Also, if you’re going outdoors, wear a pair of woolly gloves to keep your mitts warm and reduce the risk of dry skin from those harsh winter winds. Check out the gorgeous leather pair in the pic below – then do I as I do and head to Penneys/Dunnes for the cute knock-off version.

Alannah Hill, from wikifashion.com

That’s all for this edition of Nails and Things – I hope you’ve enjoyed it! If you have any suggestions for the next edition, or indeed any ideas for what you’d like to see covered in a future post, don’t hesitate to drop a comment below 🙂

xo

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nails and Things: November 2010

Leave a Reply

