Nail Inspiration, Part 2: Lady Gaga

It was all fun and games writing about Katy Perry’s crazy nails, but we’re getting down to serious nail business now, with Lady Gaga. I prefer Gaga to Katy any day. There are myriad reasons for this. One is that Lady Gaga went to NYU (holla at my alma mater!), whereas Katy decided to skip on the edumacation lark after high school. DUH Katy, knowledge is power.

 

I learned good in skool!

 

 

Lady Gaga is subtle about her nail art. While Katy regularly tweets pictures of her manicures (which makes it very convenient for bloggers), Lady Gaga’s manicures are most evident in her music videos – too often her wild real-world outfits take precedence over her nails. Check out some screen-caps from her videos.

 

from Just Dance, a cute fishnet design

 

 

from Telephone, stark opaque white achieved with OPI Alpine Snow

 

 

wire gauze, from Bad Romance

 

Gorgeous! The wire gauze nail was one of the first things that popped out at me when I watched Bad Romance. I wonder how she did this?

 

pap shot, French with nail bow

 

Above is an early paparazzi shot of Gaga – it’s a pretty tame French manicure, with a small pink bow on her ring finger, but it’s so pretty. I love statement nails, and Gaga works this look so well. This is easily replicable, either with a nail deco bow or, if that’s not available, a nail decal, or, worst case scenario, paint one on freehand! There’s also Konad, if you are of that persuasion.

 

cover of Vanity Fair, Sept 2010

 

Here’s a recent shot of Gaga, wearing another muted but stylish manicure. Taupey-greys are seriously hot this year. For this shoot, Gaga wore Deborah Lippman Waking Up In Vegas. Not only did Lippman create this shade of greige specifically for Gaga, she even painted her nails just for the shoot. Have a closer look.

 

same shade at the VMAs

 

Gaga wore this shade at the MTV Video Music Awards as well where, sadly, it was overshadowed by her mad outfits, including one infamous meat dress.

Of course, Katy Perry has not been ignored by the nail polish world. Recently it was announced that she would be teaming up with OPI to produce a special nail polish range. Then again, OPI also just released a range inspired by Justin Bieber. So, you know…

 

nail polish BFFs

 

A bit more Gaga spam, then? Sure, why not!

 

hearts and diamante from Poker Face

 

 

gold Minx for a photoshoot

 

 

vampy, blood-red nails

 

One thing I must admit, though, is that I don’t like how Gaga constantly recycles her manicures. It’s like she alights on one colour/design and then sticks with it for weeks at a time. I know she more than makes up for it with her stunning creativity in every other aspect of her life (sister and GAGA-FAN-4-LIFE is standing behind me and threatening pain unless I say something nice) but, you know, nails are awesome and should be treated as such! And they are such a cool canvas for creativity. Just sayin’!

Plus, Lady Gaga looks like she would cut a bitch, given half a chance…

 

 

until next time!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Nail Inspiration, Part 2: Lady Gaga

  1. i love this post!!!! i’m gonna link it on the meat dress! and thank you for linking me!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ xoxoxo

    and shout-out to aoife!! πŸ˜›

  2. Fab post – don’t tell your sister, but I’m not a fan of Gaga’s music or her outfits (too contrived for my tastes) but I do love all the nails you’ve shown, especially the wire gauze ones for Bad Romance — that’s my inner punk talking!

    And you went to NYU? You lucky lady you!

  3. dee

    the fishnet nails = amazing. Love the vampy red picture though- mostly because of the teacup. I kind of empathise with lady gaga, because once I find a pretty colour I want to wear it all the time, to the exclusion of all other shades. I pretty much only wore black or red all last year. you have been inspiring me to mix it up more. Also to use topcoat.

    • yay, glad I’m inspiring πŸ˜›

      I figure that if Lady Gaga is so creative and mad with her costumes, why not her nails too? It’s almost too human that she likes to stick to one colour for a while…

  4. I love love the bow nails!

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review… | New York Lady's Blog

Leave a Reply

