Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana?

Orange in a glass

I remember my cousin, who lives in America, telling me this joke when I was about 10, and I was wildly impressed to have heard a joke that came all the way from America, to hear a joke that countless cooler-than-me American tweens giggled/smirked/snorted at. Was this joke ever told by Irish children, excluding me when I repeated to kids in school? Who knows. It suited my blog post today, at least, because today we are looking at orange nail polish.

I’d been looking for a decent non-shimmer orange creme, a colour that would work well with nail art and fit into a rainbow without detracting from it by being too sparkly, or neon, or pale, or whatever. It’s a tall order, apparently. In the end I settled for Essence Multi Dimension 3 in 1 Nail Polish with XXXL Shine (gasp, take a breath) no. 60, Watch Out! Yes, the exclamation mark is part of the name. Watch Out! is a shimmery orange creme that flashes gold in the light. It takes about 3 coats to become perfectly opaque, and to cover all the smudge marks I invariably incur when I go to bed between the second and third coat.

 

indoors, natural light

 

 

outdoors, no flash

 

It’s pretty, ain’t it? And it lasted well with no chips or tipwear for at least three days. AGAIN, I got bored easily, and was itching to use my Sinful Colors Professional Nail Enamel no. 834 UFO… and so…

 

oh so shiiiiiinyyyyy

 

 

close-up of the shimmery glittery bits on my fatty thumb

 

 

my favourite glossy top-coat

 

 

unnecessarily massive picture of me posing with a clementine (so if ever there was a time to click on a picture, this would be it)

 

I LOVED this combination. I woke up one morning and when I saw my nails, INSTANT GLEE, without the singing. UFO is a sheer jelly base with tiny glass flecks and larger holographic glitter particles suspended in it.

The Essence was €1.99 in my local pharmacy, and the Sinful Colors was $2.99, I think, in Duane Reade in New York. (Sniffle. I miss Duane Reade. Where OPIs were a mere $8. Why did I not buy up every single one of them?!?! *cries*)

So… want a random picture? Ah go on then, yeah?

 

bahahahahaha

 

I was tossing away the packaging on a pair of Penney’s tights when I noticed the German translation of “Excluding Waistband”. It’s “ohne Bündchen”. Hahaha, like Gisele Bündchen! Her name means Gisele Waistband! BAHAHAHAHAHA. Okay, that’s all I’ve got on her. I’m just jealous.

until next time

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana?

  1. Oh, your blog is gorgeous! Love this polish, and your pictures are fab. Off to have a root around and see how this blogging lark is meant to be done 🙂

  2. Aw, thank you so much!! Good luck with your new blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

