Emerald Isle

The island of Ireland highlighted on a blank m...

hello from Ireland!

Hey hey!

I had planned a major blogfest this evening but unfortunately got sidetracked – I promise I will make amends tomorrow though. In the mean time, here is the the first green I’ve worn in along time – Rimmel Play Fast 800 Camouflage.

Now, being Irish, green is like my soul colour, right? Em, no. Actually I’ve shied away from wearing green on my nails, for no real reason other than indifference. But I came across a sale in Cara Pharmacy on Rimmel cosmetics and found this pretty bottle nestling among a bunch of boring ones.

green on green

… and I knew I had to have it.

indoors

grass pictures are fast becoming my signature

I then tried it with a matte top-coat from Claire’s, and here is a side-by-side comparison:

glossy...

matte...

When I took these photos, I was reminded of the Father Ted episode Chirpy Burpy Cheap Sheep, where photos of one sheep are compared side by side, and Ted proclaims “It’s like two completely different sheep!”. Hee hee. Watch the episode here.

Rimmel Camouflage is a gorgeous emerald green shimmer with flecks of silver and gold that really pop in the sunlight. Beautiful, beautiful colour!! Apparently this shade is very similar to OPI Rainforest, which was discontinued a while back and is very sought after among nail polish aficionados. I used my Rimmel base-coat, 2 coats of Camouflage, and a topcoat of Essence Absolute Pure.

And then, for Friday Nail Art… this happened.

an ickle watermelon!

I really like this, I have to admit. It was really simple to do, and it’s subtle in terms of nail art. I painted the top section with one coat of Wet n Wild Wild Shine Red Red, and covered that with one coat of NYC 130A Classic Coral Creme. Then I added black dots with W7 Black, and finished the edge with a swipe of Rimmel Camouflage. Then one coat of Essence 01 Absolute Pure – and dunzo! All in about 5 minutes. Easy peasy.

More, tomorrow – I promise!

~ nua eabhrac

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Emerald Isle

  1. dee

    actually bought a colour really like this a whileen ago- think it was collection 2000? The brush was too big to apply it without making a big old mess of the skin around my nails though, grr!! You are getting so adept at the nail art, it’s amazing. I am in awe.

Leave a Reply

