Baby It’s Gold Outside

Ex-servicewomen learning manicure techniques d...

Image via Wikipedia

Gold!

Who doesn’t love it? Now that we’re in the big bad recession, ads have been popping up urging people to exchange their gold for cash – and I think I can safely say that gold is in short supply in these parts. So, in other words, it’s the perfect time to cheer yourself up by adding a little bronzed bling to your nails.

This little beauty is the inventively named “Gold” from Barry M.

sparkleeee

Application was beautiful, and the formula was thin but nicely pigmented. I did 3 coats and topped it with a clear coat of Essense 01 Absolute Pure.

outdoors

Take a look at the close-up:

click me to magnify!

As bling-tastic as this colour is, I found myself getting a little bored with my nails. After about twelve hours or so, to be honest. It just wasn’t cutting it. So I tried a wee trick courtesy of Lynnie at Beaut.ie. Check out the link first, then peer below for my cheap imitation…

ta-dah!

Leopard-print nails! I’ve been swooning over the pictures of hand-drawn leopard manicures on Wah Nails and when I read Lynnie’s tutorial, I decided to give it a lash myself. It’s not that difficult to do, and it does look pretty cool… if you squint your eyes and look from a distance 😉

the slightly less glamorous right hand

(notice the white blobs on my thumb and middle finger? I helped my Dad paint the kitchen. Luckily regular nail polish remover whipped it right away!)

Gold seems to be a bit of a thing in the nail polish world, especially since gold Minx is both popular and expensive – some people seem to be opting for the more pocket-friendly alternative. Check out Gosh Gold for a cooler, more silvery colour, Chanel Gold Lamé for a more bronzey tone,  Topshop Gold Dust for a near-dupe of Barry M Gold, or Essence Gold Rush for some budget bling. I am aware I have overused the word “bling” in this post by about, like, seven times. I don’t care. BLING!!!

Now, what I’d REALLY like is some actual gold. Well be still my beating heart when I saw this in the paper last week:

*husband not included

Dammit… Well, thus begins the hunt! Maybe I can use my sparkly nails to lure one into my den… *flies off to fantasy-land*…

~ nua eabhrac

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Baby It’s Gold Outside

  1. Love the leopard print nails, they’re lovely!

  2. aw thank you 😀 my DIY nail art will continue, in that case!

Leave a Reply

