A Grey Old Time

Well hello there!

I’ve been meaning to update this for aaaaages but have been attacked by a serious case of the Lazies this week. I have so many swatches to update I think I’m going to need a notebook to keep track of them all. Luckily, this nail polish stood out for me. But not in a good way. This is Rimmel 60 Seconds 805 Grey Matter.

wtf??

This polish is from the new 60 Seconds range, with a chubby, curved  X-press brush for “1 sec application”, or so the bottle purports. On the back, one discovers that this is actually a “one-coat nail polish”. First of all, the formula was horrible. Really clumpy, and gooey – it had a consistency similar to that of honey. One coat might have sufficed if I was more careful with application, but I did two, followed by a thin top-coat of Essence 01 Absolute Pure.

indoors

In all fairness, I do love the colour. The big problem, I guess, is that it just didn’t dry properly. Or at all. Look at the dents and fingerprints and smudges! Horrible!! (p.s. these photos were taken the day after I painted my nails)

outdoors

I haven’t tried any other shades in the 60 Seconds range, but I would be willing to – Rimmel often have gorgeous colours, and maybe I got a dud bottle. Most bloggers who reviewed Grey Matter had nothing bad to say about it, and I don’t like to jump to conclusions, but… seriously disappointed with this one.

Of course, I will try it again, in the vain hope I can make it work 🙂

admiring my baby sunflowers

~ nua eabhrac

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Grey Old Time

  1. yikes! i HATE when that happens! oh man… so weird it happened with a Rimmel too. booo. sometimes i find an extra layer of top coat will help restore the smoothness, but in this case, it might make the polish even gooier and your nail will smudge again. :/

    haha- loving the shot with the baby sunflowers. i bet they were admiring your nails.

  2. I know, right? I think I’m a smudge-magnet. Need to stop putting it on so thickly, I reckon.

    haha, damn right the sunflowers were admiring my crappy nails! haha… probably a bad time of year to plant them, seeing as it’s officially autumn now…

Leave a Reply

