March Manicure Madness, Day Twenty Seven: Emma Bridgewater nails

I love Emma Bridgewater’s classic, instantly recognisable polka dot pattern. Her unique contrast of colours work gorgeously together and carry an air of English country simplicity. I decided to give it a go on my nails, seeing as polka dots are my go-to nail art and I wanted to try something a little different, but not too time-consuming or difficult. Let’s have a look at the pattern, first.

20120410-140010.jpg(from eclectique.co.uk)

20120410-140149.jpg
(from crocusandivy.com)

20120410-140350.jpg
(from housetohome.co.uk)

I want my own house JUST to have a place to keep an Aga as glorious as that. Anyway, I rifled through my box of nail polish and these are the ones I came up with. I’m not listing them, because the polishes don’t matter, the colours do. Of course if you want specific info on any of the polishes, go ahead and ask! :)

20120410-140631.jpg

I did several coats of the Wet n Wild 2% Milk to get a good, dark cream opaque base, then I added a few small polka dots from each polish. There are so many different colours to fit in, and there’s quite a bit of space in between them in the original pattern, so don’t add as many as I did!

20120410-140845.jpg

20120410-140913.jpg

20120410-140940.jpg

20120410-141001.jpg

I really liked how it turned out, and it was so simple to create – I highly recommend it!

xo

Nua Eabhrac

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “March Manicure Madness, Day Twenty Seven: Emma Bridgewater nails

  1. Ahhh they’re gorgeous! Jesus that AGA – I’d never get away with it here but it’s GLORIOUS!! Love this, also vay impressed with your basecoat, any time I use colour over white the darn stuff bleeds :( Gorge!! xx

    • Ah yay, glad you liked it!! I made sure the base coat was dry for a good hour or two before putting on the polka dots – if it was to bleed on me I would have just given up there and then :P

  2. JillyB

    LOVE LOVE LOVE EB polka dot. We’ve bought a heap stateside at http://www.joannehudson.com/dinnerware/polka-dots.html

Leave a Reply

